News – The Code for Sustainable Homes

The Code for Sustainable Homes

On the 27 February 2008 the Government confirmed that from 1 May 2008 it would be mandatory for all new homes to have a rating against the Code. Please note that the new regulations for providing for mandatory ratings does not apply to properties (individual or as part of an ongoing development) where the initial notice, full plans or Building Notice have been received by the relevant Local Authority Building Control body prior to 1st May 2008

For information on how this might effect you please visit the Communities and Local Government website (CLG) where you will find some frequently asked questions and a copy of the CLG’s news release.

For further information on how to download and complete a copy of the Nil rated certificate please click here.

In April 2007 the Code for Sustainable Homes replaced Ecohomes for the assessment of new housing in England. The Code is an environmental assessment method for new homes based upon BRE’s Ecohomes and contains mandatory performance levels in 7 key areas.

The Code aims to protect the environment by providing guidance on the construction of high performance homes built with sustainability in mind.

BRE and CLG have worked closely together to ensure that the Code meets the latest regulatory requirements and addresses issues that emerged from an earlier industry wide consultation.

The Scope of the Code

Many house builders who currently use Ecohomes will find the credit system of the Code familiar. Users will notice that there are new mandatory minimum levels of performance that have been introduced across 7 key issues:

Energy efficiency /CO2
Water efficiency
Surface water management
Site Waste Management
Household Waste Management
Use of Materials
Lifetime homes (applies to Code Level 6 only)

The Code Scoring System

The Code has a scoring system of six levels. The different levels are made up by achieving both the appropriate mandatory minimum standards together with a proportion of the ‘flexible’ standards.

Further information regarding the Code including a copy of the Code for Sustainable Homes: Setting the standard for sustainability in new homes can be downloaded from the CLG website.

Compliance with the Code

Code assessments are carried out in two phases:

An initial assessment and interim certification is carried out at the design stage
Final assessment and certification is carried out after construction see below:
Design Stage Review
Based on design drawings, specifications and commitments
Results in interim certificate of compliance

Post Construction Review
Based on the design stage review
Confirmation of compliance including site records and visual inspection.

Please visit one of the pages below if you are interested in:

Contacting a licensed Code for Sustainable Homes assessment organisation
Becoming a licensed Code for Sustainable Homes assessor

To find out more please contact the BREEAM Office.

Certificate Verification

If you need to check the details of a particular Code certificate that has been issued by any of the Code service providers, then please contact the BREEAM Office.